What is iHistory?

iHistory grew out of my observation that most of my students are constantly using their mp3 players and mobile phones. They are extremely comfortable with this technology, and I wanted to find a way to integrate it into learning experiences – in this case, Australian History. Students will be placed in teams, and will navigate their way around the town, listening to podcasts about various historical sites and events. They will also have a list of “evidence” that they will need to collect – voice memos, mobile phone photos etc.

I’ve got some funding to do this through the Victorian Education Department, and so Eaglehawk Secondary College (for whom I work) will be buying some mp3 players for the project. That’s essential, because our school does not have the kind of money needed.

About Dave Fagg

I'm a dad, husband, and resident of a regional town in Bendigo. I earn a crust through freelance writing, and youth work. I am also studying sociology. When I'm not working I love reading on the couch, playing soccer with my son, and musing.
This entry was posted in Learning & Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

