Introduction to the Gold Rush

This week, my students will begin to study the Australian gold rush, particularly as it relates to Bendigo. Bendigo wouldn’t exist without gold, as the land’s not great and there’s no river to speak of. The old buildings that dominate the city are the legacy of that time, as is the collapsible ground; Bendigo’s underground is like a honeycomb.

This time, I’m going to see if they remember much of the podcast, and ask them about ways to help them retain more information.

This entry was posted in Podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Introduction to the Gold Rush

  1. cnwb says:

    Hi Dave, I found your blog through the Australian Edubloggers page. As an aspiring history teacher, finding your blog in a goldmine (if you’ll excuse the pun) as it’s the first Australian history teacher blog I’ve found. I look forward to seeing future posts.

  2. Dave Fagg says:

    Thanks cnwb – I’ve tried to find a few too, but the pickings are decidedly slim, narrow etc. Hope you’re enjoying your course – what would you like to teach once you graduate?

  3. cnwb says:

    Well, the aim is history, and maybe SOSE, but it looks like the future of SOSE might be precarious at the moment, with Julie Bishop on the warpath. I’ve got a strong background in media, so I could include that too (although I’m trying to break out of that industry).

    How long have you been teaching? I’d imagine Bendigo is a great place to teach history, with all the gold-rush era background.

  4. Dave Fagg says:

    I’ve been teaching for about 2 years…18 months here and a term a few years back before an overseas trip.

    I’m definitely hoping SOSE is on the way out…I’m not a fan of SOSE. I like how history, geography and economics are integrated (in theory) but in practice it means all of these areas get squashed in minute amounts of time.

Leave a Reply

