Chinese podcast post-mortem

I reckon this podcast was too long! My podcasts have been getting longer and longer. This one was 10 minutes…I reckon I might be getting to like the sound of my own voice too much. The students were getting restless after about 4 minutes, and then probably weren’t listening after 8 minutes.

So is the problem:

  • student concentration span?
  • the length of the podcast?
  • the way the podcast is structured?

Regarding the concentration problem, it’s no use ranting and raving about it – it’s beyond my reach. The length is a problem: most songs (what students are mostly listening to) only last for 3-4 minutes. There may be correlation between their habitual use of mp3 players and their tolerance for the time of the podcast. If I created a TV show, their time tolerance would probably be higher.

I think the main problem is the structure of time. On other podcasts of longer length, I’ve noticed in the introductory spiel, they usually outline the main topics. The topics are often not related! So their could be segment on a historical topic, a segment on some new techno toy they’ve bought, and one on why their baseball team rocks…Is this viable for a podcast meant for educational purposes?

About Dave Fagg

I'm a dad, husband, and resident of a regional town in Bendigo. I earn a crust through freelance writing, and youth work. I am also studying sociology. When I'm not working I love reading on the couch, playing soccer with my son, and musing.
This entry was posted in Learning & Technology, Post-Mortems. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

