GTAV I (Geography Teacher’s Association of Victoria)

A groyne…sorry – groin

I’m at the GTAV Conference at the moment. OK, not history, but we’ll forgive them.

Seriously though, I’ve been realising how much of a piece history and geography are. Place shapes events over time, and in turn, historical events affects physical and human geograph.

Laugh of the day 1…at my presentation on “Teaching Timor-Leste”, a geographer enthused about finding a map of Timor Leste. I didn’t think this was such a big deal, but the fact that the map had a scale of 1:25000 drew gasps of rapture from the other G teachers. Bizarre people. But, as I found out, having such detailed maps is essential for successful agricultural and infrastructure planning, without which Timor Leste will struggle to survive.

Laugh of the day 2…keynote presentation on Day 2 by Peter Wheeler, a PhD student, speaking about ‘groynes’, which are human-constructed walls to guide water (see above). Lovely sentences like “In 1964, the three groynes have been emplaced…” “The in-tides and out-tides creates turbulence around the groynes…”. I know – juvenile, but I am imagining talking about groynes to Year 8s…a picture of 13 year olds unable to stop laughing, and me insisting “Groynes, not groins!”

Mmmm, free stuff. I haven’t been to many subject association events, but if they give you as much free stuff as I got, I’m becoming a groupie. I’ve nabbed 2 new atlases (none of which we’ll buy because they’re prohibitively expensive), myriad posters and a box full of just-out-of-date VCE Geography textbooks.

This entry was posted in History Teaching, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

