Teacher reflections on iHistory fieldwork- Sue

The group was fine in the a.m. but lost the plot in the afternoon.

The group used mp3 players but was a bit awkward taking it in turns, ie ‘I DID IT LAST TIME ,ITS YOUR TURN!” All skills improved as day went onward and upward towards that holy grail of educational attainment… yes, I speak of engagement. Podcast information was excellent but they were impatient and wanted it all in 1 minute…but it is the tool of the week. I think my ears are defective because my hearing aid kept falling out.

Perhaps an a.m activity over two weeks with a gap in the middle would work better.

Beaut weather! Old fashioned moi liked the gaol best because we had a real person to guide us through.

About Dave Fagg

I'm a dad, husband, and resident of a regional town in Bendigo. I earn a crust through freelance writing, and youth work. I am also studying sociology. When I'm not working I love reading on the couch, playing soccer with my son, and musing.
This entry was posted in ihistory excursion, iHistory Reflections, Learning & Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Teacher reflections on iHistory fieldwork- Sue

  1. Jim says:

    After reading your blurb on the excursion to the prison, I was most interested to hear how the class reacted to the project on a micro-scale. Are the kids not all listening to mp3 players at the same time? It would appear that as a student there would be nothing worse than competing for mp3 player time amongst peers. Maybe it’s time to talk big time to the companies who provide the technology – I mean that’s how Apple survived!!

  2. davefagg says:

    Thanks for your comment, Jim! No, not all kids are listening to the mp3 players at the same time. We usually had one, maybe two, mp3 players in a group of 3. It didn’t seem to be a problem: actually, the person in the group who enjoyed listening most tended to stay listening. The others were happy to get information from them or do other tasks.

    I think the fact that there were few mp3 players meant that some students evaded responsibility by not having to listen to all the podcasts. With more mp3 players, all students could have listened simultaneously.

Leave a Reply

