iHistory Fieldwork 2007

The next iHistory fieldwork excursion in Bendigo is coming up soon. (See the 2006 one) I had planned to spread them out over the semester but an uncharacteristically relaxed approach to the curriculum (ie. I’ve been lazy) has meant we’re going to do it in one lot this time. My one change is that we won’t be going to the Joss House.

Bendigo Gaol

So, 4 locations, podcasts and cameras. 5 small teams go out with a teacher, mp3 players, maps and questions/tasks to do. What I’d love to do is make it a Bendigo-wide competition with Year 9 Australian history classes…any Bendigo teachers listening?

I’ll be doing a practice run with the old abbatoir on the school grounds next week.

The ideal would be having students going around by themselves: it would test their skills in managing learning and group work. Having a teacher there tends to act as a crutch for the students. As well, it would reduce our replacement teacher costs!

About Dave Fagg

I'm a dad, husband, and resident of a regional town in Bendigo. I earn a crust through freelance writing, and youth work. I am also studying sociology. When I'm not working I love reading on the couch, playing soccer with my son, and musing.
This entry was posted in ihistory excursion, Learning & Technology. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

