Cyberhistory PD

Last week I presented at a PD for history teachers on how to integrate technology into history learning. Great diversity of teachers from primary, secondary as well as state, Catholic and private. They recorded their own podcast – listen here!

A big issue for the secondary teachers was access to technology – computer labs always booked etc. I think that computer labs will be less and less needed, except for ICT-specific subjects. It’s very rare that whole classes need to be on computers simultaneously, except for word processing, which is a pretty lame way to integrate ICT. I think that the way forward lies in having smaller amounts of accessible technology ie. pods of computers in or between classrooms, and in having a variety of activities, some of which require ICT. 

About Dave Fagg

I'm a dad, husband, and resident of a regional town in Bendigo. I earn a crust through freelance writing, and youth work. I am also studying sociology. When I'm not working I love reading on the couch, playing soccer with my son, and musing.
This entry was posted in Australian History, General Teaching, Learning & Technology, Podcasts. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cyberhistory PD

  1. Sandy says:

    Great session on Thursday. Nice to meet you at last

  2. johnp says:

    Hi Dave,
    Not sure if you want this but you have been memed by me for the 8 random facts meme, see my blog 🙂
    Cheers, John

  3. davefagg says:

    Sounds fun John! I’ll see how I go

Leave a Reply

