Kirsty Sword Gusmao interview

Today I’ve been at the Student Forum for the Friendship Schools Project. Heaps of schools across Victoria have a connection with a school in Timor-Leste (East Timor). Ours has been going for the last 4 years, with Ossa Huna Pre-Secondary School in Ossa Huna, Baucau, which is east of Dili.

ossa-huna-classroom-1.jpg 

Ossa Huna classroom before rebuilding

The student forum includes workshops on music, dance, drumming, singing, because this year’s theme is “Mia Festa” – “Let’s Party”! Also, we’re raising money for musical instruments at our sister school, through BBQs and a movie night. All you coffee drinkers out there, if you want to drink coffee and feel good about it, I’m selling Timorese fair trade coffee to raise money.

Thanks to the initiatives of a group of students who are creating radio programs at our school for Vision Australia, I decided to get an interview that could be a segment on the show. But what could I do?

I know, I’ll interview Kirsty Sword-Gusmao. She’s only the former First Lady of the world’s newest nation. As a former Eaglehawk PS student, she was happy to have a chat with yours truly. My budding career as interviewer of the world’s movers and shakers has begun. So, exclusively for Eaglehawk SC, here she is, holding forth on the state of her adopted country, Timor-Leste.

kirsty_sword0.jpg

Click here for audio file.

About Dave Fagg

I'm a dad, husband, and resident of a regional town in Bendigo. I earn a crust through freelance writing, and youth work. I am also studying sociology. When I'm not working I love reading on the couch, playing soccer with my son, and musing.
This entry was posted in General Teaching, Timor Leste. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Kirsty Sword Gusmao interview

  1. Heather Dobson says:

    You never cease to amaze me with your creativity, passion and enthusiasm. Keep up the good work David.

Leave a Reply

